Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Origin Story: A Big History of Everything” as Want to Read:
Origin Story: A Big History of Everything
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Origin Story: A Big History of Everything

4.19  ·  Rating details ·  57 Ratings  ·  13 Reviews
A captivating history of the universe -- from before the dawn of time through the far reaches of the distant future.

Most historians study the smallest slivers of time, emphasizing specific dates, individuals, and documents. But what would it look like to study the whole of history, from the big bang through the present day -- and even into the remote future? How would look
...more
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published May 22nd 2018 by Little, Brown and Company
More Details... edit details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Origin Story by David Christian
    Origin Story: A Big History of Everything
    by
    Release date: May 22, 2018
    Enter for your chance to win one of twenty copies of Origin Story: A Big History of Everything by David Christian.

    Bill Gates says, "I have long been
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 20 copies available, 14 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jun 08 - Jun 20, 2018

    Countries available: US

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Origin Story, please sign up.
    Popular Answered Questions
    Timothy E I'd like to add to your question...in addition to those two books Martin mentioned, how does this book compare to The Rational Optimist and The…moreI'd like to add to your question...in addition to those two books Martin mentioned, how does this book compare to The Rational Optimist and The Evolution of Everything by Matt Ridley?(less)

    Community Reviews

    (showing 1-30)
    Rating details
    Sort: Default
    |
    Filter
    Bill Gates
    May 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
    We all have an origin story. In some societies, they manifest as creation myths. In others, they look more like history textbooks. For example, as a kid in the United States, I grew up learning about the group of rebels who stood up to their British overlords and founded our country. It’s human nature to be curious about where we come from, and origin stories unite people through a common history and shared sense of purpose.

    But what if all of humanity shared an origin story? What would that stor
    ...more
    Caleb Masters
    Apr 08, 2018 rated it really liked it
    A wonderful and relatively compact history book that does its best to tell the history of EVERYTHING, from the big bang to what the future may hold for us and our universe. Christian highlights various "thresholds" that our universe and then our species crossed to take history to its next big level. I admire his ability to synthesize information and present it in an easy digestible package for the reader. Fans of Harari's "Sapiens" and Tyson's "Astrophysics for People in a Hurry" will find a lot ...more
    Arun
    May 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    excellent book that condenses the entire knowledge on universe into a delightful read
    Teo 2050
    Jun 06, 2018 marked it as to-read
    Contents:
    (view spoiler)
    ...more
    Jerry Wall
    May 28, 2018 rated it really liked it
    History of universe and people with timeline in thresholds from one age to another with seven of so thresholds til we get to modern history.
    early on after big bang energy itself split up into 1 gravity, 2 the electromagnetic force, then the 3 strong and 4 weak nuclear forces. p.23
    . . . electromagnetism is . . . 10 to 36th times as strong as gravity. p. 28
    . . . the first living organism as Luca (Or LUCA, from "last universal common ancestor. . . p. 90
    . . . symbols (deceptively simple words like
    ...more
    Andre Chiasson
    May 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    An overview of science and history and culture

    From astrophysics to geology, biology, history... You name it, an overview of everything from the Big Bang to today and beyond. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in science, in history, in where we are and how we got here. I would like to see young people exposed to this kind of an overview to inspire their interests for future studies.
    Kannan
    Jun 04, 2018 rated it liked it
    'Origin Story' does as good a job of covering "the big history" as is realistically possible for a project of its size. There are several interesting facts about the world we live in and the planet we call home. However, it underplays the (hi)stories of the lesser privileged half of the world, thereby missing valuable lessons to be learnt from humanity's biggest mistakes. This makes the book feel a little incomplete.
    Tracy108
    Jun 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
    Interesting. Fulfilled its purpose very well. I wish it had been more about social systems but that wasn’t the goal of the book, just my personal preference and (incorrect) assumption that it would include more of that lens. Covered a tremendous amount of information with excellence.
    Jie Mauricio
    Jun 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
    Learned so much from this book!!!
    Janet
    Jun 01, 2018 rated it it was ok
    Informative, but rather dry. Some pictures would have helped.
    Hannah Matschek
    rated it liked it
    May 23, 2018
    Vitaly
    rated it it was amazing
    May 28, 2018
    Pawel
    rated it did not like it
    May 30, 2018
    Sara Piteira
    rated it it was amazing
    May 26, 2018
    Kris Doyle
    rated it it was amazing
    Jun 01, 2018
    Charles F
    rated it liked it
    May 22, 2018
    Nomad
    May 28, 2018 added it
    Shelves: unfinished
    Decided to give this a try based on Bill Gate's recommendation, but gave up about 20% into it. This book appears to be aimed at casual readers with little to no knowledge of science and cosmology.
    Enrico Wagner
    rated it it was amazing
    May 28, 2018
    Brett Crowley
    rated it it was amazing
    May 29, 2018
    Kate
    rated it really liked it
    Jun 01, 2018
    Rei
    rated it really liked it
    Jun 04, 2018
    Minh Phuc
    rated it it was amazing
    May 23, 2018
    Hari Tulsidas
    rated it it was amazing
    Jun 03, 2018
    Jim
    rated it liked it
    Jun 04, 2018
    Kiswara
    rated it it was amazing
    May 30, 2018
    Salina
    rated it it was amazing
    Jun 04, 2018
    Kati
    rated it really liked it
    Jun 05, 2018
    Guy Barrett
    rated it it was amazing
    Jun 02, 2018
    Devang Toshniwal
    rated it it was amazing
    Jun 03, 2018
    Naomi Kokkes
    rated it it was amazing
    Jun 05, 2018
    « previous 1 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
    71 followers
    David Gilbert Christian is an Anglo-American historian and scholar of Russian history notable for creating and spearheading an interdisciplinary approach known as Big History. He grew up in Africa and in England, where he earned his B.A. from Oxford University, an M.A. in Russian history from the University of Western Ontario, and a Ph.D. in 19th century Russian history from Oxford University in 1 ...more
    More about David Christian

    Nonfiction Deals

    • A Guide to the Present Moment
      $7.99 $2.99
    • Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survivors and a Young Spy Agency Chased Down the World's Most Notorious Nazi
      $9.99 $2.99
    • The Breaks of the Game
      $11.99 $2.99
    • Celebration of Discipline: The Path to Spiritual Growth
      $11.74 $1.99
    • Soul Keeping: Caring For the Most Important Part of You
      $9.99 $1.99
    • The Autobiography of Eleanor Roosevelt
      $12.74 $2.99
    • How to Be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life
      $12.99 $1.99
    • How Remarkable Women Lead
      $12.99 $1.99
    • How Soccer Explains the World: An Unlikely Theory of Globalization
      $8.24 $1.99
    • Dry
      $9.99 $3.99
    • A Truck Full of Money: One Man's Quest to Recover from Great Success
      $13.99 $1.99
    • Animal Liberation: The Definitive Classic of the Animal Movement
      $17.99 $1.99
    • A Woman in Charge
      $11.99 $2.99
    • The Measure of a Man
      $8.74 $1.99
    • 32 Yolks
      $12.99 $1.99
    • Recovery: Freedom from Our Addictions
      $13.99 $2.99
    • Enemies: A History of the FBI
      $13.99 $1.99
    • Victoria: The Queen: An Intimate Biography of the Woman Who Ruled an Empire
      $13.99 $1.99
    • Being Nixon: A Man Divided
      $10.99 $1.99
    • 100 Days of Real Food: How We Did It, What We Learned, and 100 Easy, Wholesome Recipes Your Family Will Love
      $8.99 $1.99
    • Barbarians at the Gate: The Fall of RJR Nabisco
      $13.99 $2.99
    • Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls: A Handbook for Unapologetic Living
      $9.99 $2.99
    • Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity
      $13.99 $2.99
    • A History of Warfare (Vintage)
      $13.99 $2.99
    • Best Friends: The True Story of the World's Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary
      $14.99 $1.99
    • Let. It. Go.: How to Stop Running the Show and Start Walking in Faith
      $4.99 $1.99
    • Future Crimes: Everything Is Connected, Everyone Is Vulnerable and What We Can Do About It
      $9.99 $2.99
    • Still: Notes on a Mid-Faith Crisis
      $9.24 $1.99
    • Sick in the Head: Conversations About Life and Comedy
      $13.99 $1.99
    • Paris 1919: Six Months That Changed the World
      $14.99 $1.99