Thriller

Thrillers are characterized by fast pacing, frequent action, and resourceful heroes who must thwart the plans of more-powerful and better-equipped villains. Literary devices such as suspense, red herrings and cliffhangers are used extensively.

Thrillers often overlap with mystery stories, but are distinguished by the structure of their plots. In a thriller, the hero must thwart the plans of an enemy, rather than uncover a crime that has already happened. Thrillers also occur on a much grander scale: the crimes that must be prevented are serial or mass murder, terrorism, assassination, or the ov
...more

Lying in Wait
Neverworld Wake
Social Creature
Providence
Jar of Hearts
The Anomaly
Three Days Missing
Who Is Vera Kelly?
Bearskin
Any Man
The Real Michael Swann
Invitation to a Bonfire
A Study in Emerald
Tell Me No Lies (Follow Me Back #2)
Now You See Her

Giveaways

  • A Killer's Mind by Mike Omer
    A Killer's Mind (Zoe Bentley Mystery #1)
    by
    Release date: Aug 01, 2018
    A killer’s mind is her playground.

    Three Chicago women have been found strangled, embalmed, and posed as if still alive. Doubting the findings of the l
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 1124 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jul 04 - Jul 31, 2018

    Countries available: US

  • Expose by Danielle Girard
    Expose (Dr. Schwartzman, #3)
    by
    Release date: Jul 24, 2018
    Examining the dead will help her solve present crimes and uncover past secrets in this page-turner thriller for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Rizzoli ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 811 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jun 26 - Jul 23, 2018

    Countries available: US

  • See What I Have Done by Sarah  Schmidt
    See What I Have Done
    by
    Release date: Jun 12, 2018
    Enter for a chance to win a paperback copy of Sarah Schmidt's SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE, called "a gory and gripping debut" by The Guardian.

    Perfect for bo
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 20 copies available, 5700 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jun 30 - Jul 29, 2018

    Countries available: US

  • The Woman in the Window
    A Killer's Mind (Zoe Bentley Mystery #1)
    The President Is Missing
    The Thinnest Air
    A Steep Price (Tracy Crosswhite, #6)
    The Outsider
    Something in the Water
    The Fallen (Amos Decker, #4)
    My Sister's Grave (Tracy Crosswhite, #1)
    Say You're Sorry (Morgan Dane #1)
    Bring Me Back
    The Wife Between Us
    The Couple Next Door
    The Death of Mrs. Westaway
    Then She Was Gone
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg LarssonThe Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg LarssonThe Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Stieg LarssonThe Da Vinci Code by Dan BrownGone Girl by Gillian Flynn
    Thrillers You Must Read!
    2,698 books — 4,077 voters
    The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger11/22/63 by Stephen KingOutlander by Diana GabaldonThe Time Machine by H.G. WellsReplay by Ken Grimwood
    The Best Time Travel Books of All Time
    585 books — 1,353 voters

    Token Huntress by Kia Carrington-RussellNICU II and Victoria's Incestuous Romance by Kenneth Jarrett SingletonThe Law of Attraction by N.M. SilberBeatless by Amber L.  JohnsonCircle of Five by Jan Raymond
    Our Favorite Indie Reads
    2,430 books — 2,458 voters

    A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasMermen by Mimi Jean PamfiloffRed Queen by Victoria AveyardAn Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa TahirSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    New Series (2015)
    439 books — 1,300 voters

    The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, #2)
    The Girl on the Train
    Gone Girl
    Angels & Demons  (Robert Langdon, #1)
    The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, #2)
    The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millennium, #3)
    The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, #3)
    Inferno (Robert Langdon, #4)
    Deception Point
    Digital Fortress
    Dark Places
    Sharp Objects
    The Silence of the Lambs  (Hannibal Lecter, #2)
    Before I Go to Sleep
    The Bourne Identity (Jason Bourne, #1)

    Aleatha Romig

    Author of Consequences

    Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Aleatha has raised three children with her high school sweetheart and husband of nearly thirty years. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she's not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time a with her family and friends. Her other pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!

    Ask a Question

    More Featured Authors Taking Questions…
    William Gibson
    William Gibson Zero History (Blue Ant, #3)
    His Favorite Books About London: The father of cyberpunk, cyberspace, and maybe even cybersex picks his five favorite books about London, the setting of his new techno-thriller, Zero History.
    More Good Minds Suggest…
    Karen M. McManus
    I don't know why it's so hard for people to admit that sometimes they're just assholes who screw up because they don't expect to get caught.
    Karen M. McManus, One of Us Is Lying

    Scott Cherney
    It doesn't cost anything to pay attention.
    Scott Cherney, Red Asphalt

    More quotes...
    Book Haven This is a group for people who enjoy many different genre's. If you are someone who appreciates…more

    9,273 members, last active 21 hours ago

    The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group July 2018 Group Reads - Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann and In Cold Blood by Truman Ca…more

    17,651 members, last active 12 minutes ago

    YA Reading With Kelly & Kelli! Welcome to YA Reading With Kelly & Kelli! We created this group, so we can all chat and discuss…more

    145 members, last active 1 days ago

    EVERYONE Has Read This but Me - The Catch-Up Book Club Click HERE for the latest group announcements. "It reminded me of ____ but in space." "I read _…more

    8,024 members, last active 3 minutes ago

    The Road to Hell
    4 chapters — updated Mar 30, 2010 01:35AM — 8 people liked it
    Orphan Girl
    3 chapters — updated Mar 08, 2011 02:01AM — 5 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: thriller and thrillers